Study Tips

I’m currently studying for exams. (I know it definitely looks like it as I write this post….) I’ve been out of college for some time, so I feel I’ve had to relearn how to study.

Studying is a very personal thing, obviously, but I’d like to share a couple of things I do that help and I hope you’ll share some with me too!

  • Get comfortable. If that means comfortable jeans or sweatpants or whatever works for you, go for it. Be comfortable.
  • Stay hydrated. I always always have water nearby. I tend to drink a lot of coffee and tea while studying as well, but water is really the key. I do my best to stay away from sugary drinks.
  • Give yourself little rewards. I set up a system for myself where if I complete one or two problems (depending on their intensity) or study for a certain length of time, I take a 20 minute break and eat a piece of chocolate or watch a funny video before continuing again. It prevents me from becoming too overwhelmed.
  • Discover the amount of noise that works for you and find a place that accommodates that. Some people need complete silence to study, so a library is perfect for that. Some people, like myself, cannot study in complete silence. I need background noise, so I tend to go to coffee shops to study. Or I study at home and use Coffivity in the background, which is a site that plays the sounds of a coffee shop on a loop for you.

Are there any other tips that you have for studying? I’m still relearning how to study and would love to hear what you think! 🙂

Good luck to everyone taking exams!

Cheers!

Katelynne

3 thoughts on “Study Tips

Leave a Reply

